Shipping

From LOCATE
Jump to: navigation, search

Main Page

Sales | Purchasing | Stock | Operations | Accounting | Reports | Setup | Settings


General

Once the items have been organized into cartons and the pack has been finished, the order is now ready to be shipped.

List View

The list view of the Shipping module will show previously created shipments. See below for how to create a shipment.

Filters
Shipments may be sorted on Number, Customer/Vendor/Dest. Site, Order Numbers, Site, Destination, Assigned To, Status, Created Date, and Completed At by toggling the filter heading. You may filter for shipments that match specific criteria by typing a value in the text field or selecting an option from the drop-down list. Clicking the Clear Filters button will clear your search. Any filters that are applied in list view will carry over to the List Navigator in the Detail View.
Quick Action
  • Delete Shipment - This action cannot be undone from list view, and may only be performed when the shipment status is in progress.
  • Void Shipment - This action cannot be undone from list view, and will send the items back to the Ready to Ship status to finish shipping the order(s).

Clicking on a specific record takes you to directly to the selected shipment and opens up the option to click between sub-tabs of the module navigation bar.

Back to Top

Shipping Detail View

The Details tab will be the main sub-tab. Here you may view the customer, destination, BOL number, site, location, assigned user, and started and completed dates. This is also where you view and manage carton information and contents. The badge at the top right of the module navigation bar will indicate the shipment status.

Customer
  • The customer name will be hyperlinked and displayed here.
Destination
  • The order ship to address will be shown here. The residential status will be indicated by an icon to the left of the address.
BOL Number
  • The Bill of Lading number will be displayed here
Site
  • The site from which the shipment is being fulfilled will be hyperlinked.
Location
  • The current location of the items being shipped will be shown here. For more information on locations in LOCATE, continue here.
Assigned User
  • The name of the user assigned to packing the order will be hyperlinked.
Started Date and Completed At Date
  • The dates that the shipment was started and completed will show here for reference. These dates cannot be changed.

Back to Top

Module Navigation Bar

Details

The shipment number will be the title of the main sub-tab. Here, you may quickly view the details of the shipment and configure cartons as needed.

Shipment Details
  • Displays customer, destination, location, and user assigned to shipment.
Carton(s)
  • Each carton shows the part, quantity, and order number that is inside the carton. You will also see dimensions, carrier assignment, and tracking for the carton.

Back to Top

Notes

View and edit notes pertaining to the shipment.

  • Notes are for internal use only and will not be displayed on order documents.
  • Entered notes will be displayed at the top of the sub-tab and may be filtered or sorted.
  • You may modify a specific note by clicking the Edit or Delete button.
Enter a New Note
  1. Type note to text box with "Start typing note here..." prompt.
  2. Click Save Note.
  • There is no character limit, but special formatting is not supported.

Back to Top

Reports

Any reports associated to the Shipping module will appear in this sub-tab.

  • For more information on associating reports, continue here.

Back to Top

Custom

  • Any custom fields pertaining to shipments will reside in this tab.
  • Click the following link to learn more about Custom Fields.

Back to Top

Actions

  • Finish Shipment - Closes the shipment to further editing and sends the items to Pickup.
  • Go To Pickup - Redirects you to the Pickup module to confirm the shipment has left the site. This action may only be performed on a finished shipment.
  • Audit - The Audit sub-tab provides information about changes and events made to a shipment.
  • Delete Shipment - This action cannot be undone from list view.
  • Void Shipment - Retains record of shipment but will not allow you to continue with shipping. The items will go back to Ready to Ship status to complete the order.

Back to Top

Create Shipment

Shipments may be created in the list view of the Shipping module or from the pack detail view in the Packing module.

From Shipping Module

In the Shipping module, shipments are listed on two sub-tabs: By Order and Manual.

By Order
  1. Use the header filters and sorting to find the order you would like to ship.
    • Multiple orders may be selected if they are going to the same customer and destination address. Select the orders you would like to group and click Create Shipment at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Click Create Shipment.
  3. Click Go To Shipment.
  4. You may now Edit Shipment, Set Tracking, or Finish Shipment.
Manual
  1. Use the header filters and sorting to find the destination for which you would like to create a shipment.
    • Select the orders you would like to group and click Create Shipment at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Click Create Shipment.
  3. Click Go To Shipment.
  4. You may now Edit Shipment, Set Tracking, or Finish Shipment.

Back to Top

From Pack

Once a pack has been finished in the Pack module, you may click the Actions button in the module navigation bar and select Go To Ship. You will be redirected to the Shipping module and can proceed with creating shipments from the shipping module.

Back to Top

Change Location or Assigned User

  1. Navigate to the shipment you would like to change.
  2. Click Edit Shipment.
  3. Change the location or user as you see fit.
    • Note: The location must be a ship type. For more information on locations, continue here.

Back to Top

Change Carrier or Carrier Service Level

The carrier and carrier service level will automatically populate from the selections made on the sales order, and may be changed during shipping.

  1. Navigate to the shipment for which you would like to add tracking data.
  2. Below the carton or pallet click Set Carton Details.
  3. Edit the carrier and/or carrier service level as you see fit.
  4. Click Submit.

Back to Top

Add Pallet/Carton

  1. Navigate to the shipment you would like to change.
  2. Click Add Pallet/Carton.
    • By default, the carton type is set to "Pallet". You may change your default carton as desired.
  3. Enter the carton type.
  4. Mark the check-boxes for the cartons you would like to add to the pallet.
  5. Click Create Carton.

Now all of the items from the individual cartons are listed within the pallet. To reverse this operation, click Unbox Cartons and select the carton(s) you would like to remove from the pallet.

Back to Top

Set Tracking

Tracking may be added to individual cartons and pallets.

  1. Navigate to the shipment for which you would like to add tracking data.
  2. Below the carton or pallet click Set Carton Details.
  3. Enter the tracking number.
    • Special characters may be used in tracking numbers, however the field is subject to a 45 character limit.
  4. Click Submit.

Tracking numbers will be hyperlinked to the appropriate external website to quickly check the status of the shipment. For any carriers other than UPS, USPS, and FedEx, the carrier must have a URL entered on the carrier profile page. Click here for more information about the Tracking URL.

Back to Top

Finish Shipment

Once all of the items have been placed in the appropriate cartons and the details have been set, the shipment will need to be finished and sent to pickup for completion.

  1. Navigate to the shipment detail view.
    • Click Finish Shipment below the shipment details, OR
    • Click Actions and select Finish Shipment.

Now the shipment is sent to the Pickup module where it will await pickup by the appropriate carrier.

Back to Top

Delete Shipment

Shipments may be deleted from the list view under the Quick Actions Menu, or:

  1. Navigate to the shipment you would like to delete.
  2. Click Actions and select Delete Shipment.
  3. When prompted, click Yes.

Shipments that have been completed cannot be deleted.

Back to Top

Contact Us