Notifications

From LOCATE
Jump to: navigation, search

Main Page

General

Notifications in LOCATE are designed to alert designated users or user groups of certain events that occur in LOCATE, via the medium of their choosing. They may be set globally from the Settings menu, or for an individual record.

List View

Notification Types

The Notification Type is the event which occurs in LOCATE that will trigger the notification to be sent.

  • The available Notification Types are preset in LOCATE and cannot be removed. See below for more information.

Back to Top

Detail View

  • Clicking Manage for a particular Notification Type will open the Detail View, where you may view and edit the users and groups who will be notified. You may also view and edit the channel via which the notification is sent.
  • Users and groups may be sorted by user or group name, and channel.
User
  • The specific user who is to be notified.
Group
  • This is the group of users to be notified.
  • For more information about user groups, continue here.
Channel
  • There are two channels via which the notification may be sent:
    1. Pop Up - A notification will appear in a small window in the lower-right corner of the screen. To clear it, simply close with the 'x' icon.
      • Application - If you select Pop Up, you will also specify whether or not the notification should go to the Notification Inbox as well. If you select yes, the Channel will be displayed as "Application".
    2. Email - An email will be sent out to the user(s) or user group(s) when the selected action occurs.
Send to LOCATE Inbox?
  • Pop Up notifications may also be sent to the Notification Inbox inside the LOCATE interface. For more information about the Notification Inbox, see below.

Back to Top

Notification Types

Sales Orders
  • Sales Order Complete - Once the pickup for the sales order has been finished and the order status changes to Complete. Note that partially fulfilled sales orders are not considered complete.
Service Integrations
  • Missing Account Mapping - If there is an Account Mapping missing in the accounting service integration, and an action in LOCATE requires use of that Account Mapping, this notification will alert the user(s).
  • Service Sync Failure - When a service integration fails to sync.
  • Service Warning - This notification type will alert the user when there's an issue with an order that isn't preventing sync but may need to be addressed.

Back to Top

Notification Inbox

The Notification Inbox is found in the upper right corner of the main Navigation Bar and displays a history of Pop Up notifications which you've set to be sent to the inbox. A small badge will be displayed with a count of unread notifications. See above for information about setting up inbox notifications.

Filter
Notifications may be filtered by Read, Unread or All Messages by clicking the appropriate icon in the header section.
Options
The options menu contains actions which may be applied to all notifications. Note that this will include notifications on all subsequent pages.
  • Mark All Unread
  • Mark All Read
  • Delete All - This action may not be undone.
List View
Notifications may be sorted on Date Created, Type, and Message by clicking the filter heading. You may filter for notifications that match specific criteria by typing a value in the text field or selecting an option from the drop-down list. Clicking the Clear Filters button will clear your search.
  • Multiple notifications may be selected at once and actions may be applied by opening the check-box drop down menu in the upper left of the column headers.
  • The Message column will display the content of the notification. For example, "Sales order #S-001 is complete."

Back to Top

Manage Notifications

Notifications may be set for actions that occur globally to a group of records (such as all sales orders), or to a specific record.

For All Records

  1. Navigate to the Settings Menu and select the appropriate module.
  2. Click onto the Notifications sub-tab.
  3. Filter or sort the column heading(s) to find the notification type you would like to use and click Manage.
  4. Fields:
    • User' - If you would like to setup a notification for a single user, enter the user's name here.
    • User Group - If you would like to setup a notification for a user group, enter the user group name here.
    • Channel - Enter the user or user group to be notified, and select the desired channel.
      • Send to LOCATE Inbox? - Specify whether or not the notification should also go to LOCATE's Notification Inbox.
  5. Click Save.

The notification will appear in the appropriate list below. The notification may be changed or removed by clicking Edit or Delete, respectively.

Back to Top

For Specific Record

  1. Navigate to the profile page of the record or service.
  2. Click onto the Notifications sub-tab.
  3. Filter or sort the column heading(s) to find the notification type you would like to use and click Manage.
  4. Fields:
    • User' - If you would like to setup a notification for a single user, enter the user's name here.
    • User Group - If you would like to setup a notification for a user group, enter the user group name here.
    • Channel - Enter the user or user group to be notified, and select the desired channel.
      • Send to LOCATE Inbox? - Specify whether or not the notification should also go to LOCATE's Notification Inbox.
  5. Click Save.

The notification will appear in the appropriate list below. The notification may be changed or removed by clicking Edit or Delete, respectively.

Back to Top

Clear/Delete Notifications

Only Pop Up notifications may be cleared or otherwise deleted from LOCATE. Email notifications should be managed from within your email inbox.

Clear

Pop Up notifications may be cleared by clicking the "x" icon to close the notification window. If the notification was also set to be sent to the Notification Inbox, clearing the notification will not delete it, it will remain in the Notification Inbox.

Back to Top

Delete

You may delete notifications from the Notification Inbox, however note that the action may not be undone.

  1. Navigate to the Notification Inbox in the upper right corner.
  2. Select the check-boxes next to each notification you wish to delete.
  3. Open the check-box drop down menu and select Delete.

Back to Top

Contact Us