Groups

From LOCATE
Jump to: navigation, search

Main Page

Sales | Purchasing | Stock | Operations | Accounting | Reports | Setup | Settings

General

Groups are designed to associate multiple records into categories and quickly apply attributes to all records contained in the group, such as permissions, ACLs, or notifications. They are managed through the Settings menu in LOCATE, and may be applied to customers, parts, users and vendors.

Groups Detail View

The upper section of the detail view is used to create new groups.

Groups

In the group list section on the left-hand side, you can see all groups previously created for the module. You may filter for a specific group name, and navigate through the pages. Clicking Clear will clear your filter search.

Click on a group name to view and edit details and members.

Group Details

The group name and description will be visible in the details section on the right-hand side. You may edit this information at any time, or delete the group, if necessary.

Members

In the members section in the lower right, you may view and manage all of the individual records associated to the group selected. Each record will be hyperlinked for quick access.

Back to Top

Create Group

  1. Navigate to the Settings Menu and select the appropriate module:
    • Customers
    • Parts
    • Users
    • Vendors
  2. Click onto the Groups sub-tab.
  3. Fields:
    • Name - Enter the name of the group.
    • Description - Enter a description of the group. This field is optional.
  4. Click New Group.

The group will now appear in the list below. Click onto the group to edit the name and description details, if necessary.

Back to Top

Add/Remove Group Members

Records may be added to more than one group in LOCATE.

From Settings Menu
  1. Navigate to the Settings Menu and select the appropriate module:
    • Customers
    • Parts
    • Users
    • Vendors
  2. Click onto the Groups sub-tab.
  3. Use the filter to find the group to which you could like to add members (or records), and click on it.
  4. In the members section on the right, enter the record name or number you would like to add and click on the correct item.

The member will now be listed below along with the date that the record was added to the group.

To remove the member from the group, simply click the red "X" icon to the right of the member name. This will not delete the original record, it will simply remove it from the group. Note that users may not be removed from the All Users group.


From Specific Module

The group associations for specific customers, parts, users and vendors may also be managed from their respective modules.

  1. Navigate to the record's profile page.
  2. Open the Manage menu and select Groups.
  3. Use the filters or column sorting to find the group you'd like to add the record to.
  4. Click Add to Group on the right.

A green check-mark will appear to the left to indicate that the record is now a member of the group.

To remove the record from the group, simply click Remove from Group to the right.

Back to Top

Delete Group

Deleting a group will not delete the original records of any members included, it will simply disassociate the records from the group and remove the group name and details.

  1. Navigate to the Settings Menu and select the appropriate module:
    • Customers
    • Parts
    • Users
    • Vendors
  2. Click onto the Groups sub-tab.
  3. Use the filter to find the group to which you would like to delete, and click on it.
  4. In the details section on the right, click Delete Group.
  5. When prompted, click Yes.

Back to Top


Contact Us